CBAN Board of Directors

Jon Willow, Board Chair

CBAN co-founder Jon Willow is a former digital publisher and journalist with extensive experience working with state and local governments and policy-making bodies. Jon owns Crystal Clear Communications, a small firm serving small- to medium-sized companies, nonprofits and municipalities, including locally-owned utilities.

Jon holds a Bachelor of Arts in Communications from the University of Iowa and is pursuing her Masters of Fine Arts in Creative Writing from Lindenwood University.

Curtis Dean, Secretary/Treasurer

CBAN Co-founder Curtis Dean has been involved in community broadband for 20+ years.

In 2015, he established SmartSource Consulting to provide services to small telecommunications services, including project management, marketing and strategic planning.

Curtis holds a Bachelor of Arts from Buena Vista University and an Executive Master of Public Administration from the University of South Dakota.

Chris Roy, Member-at-large

Chris Roy is the General Manager of Shrewsbury Electric and Cable Operations (SELCO) in Massachusetts. Over the last 18 years, Chris has led broadband modernization efforts for utilities ranging from a municipal broadband startup to a mature cable operator. This is in addition to his role leading the electric utility to a fully decarbonized power portfolio by 2032. Chris has been a strong advocate for municipal broadband and public power in both his personal and professional life.

Chris holds a Bachelor of Science in Electrical Engineering from Tufts University, a Masters of Science in Power Systems Management from Worcester Polytechnic Institute and was honored as one of the 50 most influential people in the Central Massachusetts economy in 2022.

David Schilling, Member-at-large

David Schilling is a trusted advisor on all matters concerning local broadband infrastructure and operations, having worked in the industry for almost four decades. Until his retirement in 2022, he led Communications Services at municipal broadband innovator Cedar Falls (IA) Municipal Utilities, where he served for 26 years. 

David was the Project Manager for Iowa’s first Gigabit city-wide fiber network, for which he was nationally recognized by President Barack Obama in 2015. He also served as a board member for the Iowa local chapter of the Society of Cable Telecommunications Engineers (SCTE). 

Tyler Wyngarden, Member-at-large

Tyler Wyngarden has extensive experience in program development, public policy, and community building. He is currently VP of Strategic Partnerships for the Technology Association of Iowa (TAI), which represents nearly 400 technology-member companies across the state. He was instrumental in developing the state of Iowa’s first Technology Apprenticeship Program, which scaled technology education programming to over 250 schools. 


Prior to joining TAI, Tyler worked for Iowa Economic Development Authority as a business development manager. He holds a Bachelor of Arts in Communications from the University of Northern Iowa and received his MBA from St. Ambrose University.